Conflict of Interest

Hi all,

As I have mentioned in the last few posts, I have recently moved to Scotland. After spending a year in London and a few months in Paris, I found my dream publishing job in the beautiful city of Edinburgh.

p1090171
My new kingdom

One thing I did not really think about before I started my job was how it might impact my blogging. That might seem obvious to some but it didn’t really cross my mind at first. In order to familiarise myself more with my company’s list, most of the books I am reading are books that we publish and I won’t be running out of reading material anytime soon.

The only problem with that is that it would be a bit weird if I only reviewed books from one publishing house, and especially from the publishing house I work for. I rarely mention publishers in my reviews but I am sure it would quickly become obvious. Although I am lucky enough to work for a company that publishes a large variety of high quality books, it would not be very varied if I only offered reviews of books from a single publishing house.

Plus, I don’t know how comfortable I would be reviewing books from the place I work for. So far, I have loved every single book I have read and I am sure I’m going to love even more but I don’t believe it’s appropriate for me to share my opinions of these particular books on my own platform. That’s what adult call ‘conflict of interest’ I believe.

However, I don’t want you to miss out on some great reads so I might mention some of these books but will always make sure to be open about the fact that they are published by the place I work at.

I guess all of this to say that reviews might be even more sporadic that they already are on this blog but I will of course  review the other books I read and, as always, give my 100% honest opinion.

I hope this all makes sense. I just wanted to be open and honest about it.

If you guys want a post or have any questions about anything publishing related, please let me know in the comments and I’ll make sure to get to them as quickly as possible.

p1090226
Dean Village

Toodles,

Pow.

PS: I have also stopped using Goodreads for similar reasons.

 

Leave a Reply

