2017 Reading (and blogging) Resolutions

Hi all,

In the craziness that is my life at the moment, I have found a bit of time to write my reading resolutions for this new year. I’m hoping this will motivate me to start reading because I have not done much of that in the last ten days.

I don’t want to go into too much detail this year. I’d like to feel like I have more options but there are a few specific titles I want to get through. Also, because I’ve just moved again, I don’t have many of my books with me so that gives me a whole new realm of possibilities.

  1. Read the following three  books:  Barnaby Rudge by Charles Dickens, Les Misérables by Victor Hugo and A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

Those are three humongous titles that I would really like to get through this year, for various reasons. I already own Les Misérables on Kindle and a physical copy of A Dance with Dragons but I still need to get my hands on Barnaby Rudge. Might have to go the Kindle route on this one.

      2. Finish The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Like I mentioned in Part 2 of my 2016 Reading Wrap-up, I read four of the books during my Irish trip. I would very much like to finish the series this year.

3. Read 25 books

I have a lot of titles that I’d like to read this year but I don’t want to have to find them a category. Therefore, just giving myself a number seems more appropriate. I really want 2017 to be the year where I read with the flow.We’ll see how that goes. Maybe it will lead me to read more. Maybe not.

To be honest, that’s really it for my 2017 Reading Resolutions. Much like with regular resolutions, I didn’t want to set myself up for failure. I might fail those three anyway but a girl can dream.

I did also want to mention my blogging resolutions this year because I want to continue and improve what I do on here.

  1. Write at least 2 posts a month

2016 was a good blogging year for me but not very consistent. I had very productive months and completely silent ones. This year, I want to avoid huge gaps between posts. I think two posts a month is a very reasonable goal. I am sure I’ll be able to write more at times but I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself.

     2. Foster a conversation in the comments

I really want people, including YOU, to engage with my content. I want to learn what you like to read and I will absolutely love your RECOMMENDATIONS!!!! So please, please, don’t hesitate to start a chat in the comments. I would love to get to know more about the people who take the time to read my word vomit.

      3. Engage with the community at large

One thing that I have been very bad at this year and was much better at the year before is taking the time to engage with other people’s content. I really want to read more of the blogs I’m subscribed to and discover a lot of new ones.

Anyway that is all for my 2017 Reading and Blogging Resolutions.

What are YOUR resolutions? Or do you just not even bother?

Toodles,

Pow.

Leave a Reply

