My favourite “slightly spooky” reads

Hi all,

It’s that time of year again; the time when wearing orange is suddenly acceptable, when pumpkin becomes a staple in anything comestible or not, and when dressing up as a creepy serial-killer is not necessarily frowned upon. Having grown up in France, Halloween was never a big deal but my years in Canada really showed me what this “holiday” was all about!

Today, I wanted to share with you some of the books that put me in a “spooky” mood. Quick disclaimer though, I’m very easily scared so these titles aren’t what’s usually considered scary. I guess they’re more eerie than scary. In case they don’t even make you raise an eyebrow, I hope this post still gives you some new books to add to your TBR pile.

  1. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

I read this book in my last semester of undergrad and found it to be a thrilling read with both mystery and an ounce of peculiar that made for a spookish atmosphere. It is referred to as a “sensation novel” and really deserves the label.

5890

 

  1. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

I have already talked about this novel and how it gave me the creeps but I thought I would include it here as well. A great and unsettling story with amazing settings, you definitely need to read it!

shadow

  1. Macbeth by William Shakespeare

My all-time favourite Shakespeare play, Macbeth is an obvious choice for this post. A blend of witches and crazy royals, this play has all the ingredients for a good Halloween read.

macbeth

  1. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

This Halloween, I’m rereading The Picture of Dorian Gray for a free online course I’m taking on Oscar Wilde (I guess I’m already missing school). This philosophical novel is incredibly well written and, in my opinion, quite eerie.

P1050760

  1. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

Ok, I admit, this one isn’t scary at all. However, I thought the premise was disturbing and before the end revelations, I was seriously worried about what was coming.

P1060944

Anyway, if all else fails, you can always read a Goosebumps book. We had those in France as well and they use to do the trick when I was a child.

Have a fun and safe Halloween, wherever you are!

Toodles,

Pow.

Leave a Reply

