T5W:Books you want to see as TV shows

Hi all,

This week I’m coming at you from a computer in Belfast. I’m scheduling this post so I won’t be in Belfast when you read it but I just wanted to set a scene for you guys.

I’ve decided to continue with the T5W posts this month. T5W was created by gingerreadslainey. You can find each week’s topics here.

Today’s theme is one that I’d never really thought about and it took me a while to come up with five titles that I’d like to see adapted as TV shows. It’s a bit tricky for standalones but I guess they could be made into only one season or something similar to the BBC adaptations. Anyway, here is what I came up with.

5. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

This novel was my last review and if you’ve read this post, you’d already know that I really enjoyed it. I think it  would work really well as a TV show and it would be interesting to see how the Oasis would look like. I guess it could be half-animated. Plus, Cline is apparently working on a second novel so it could potentially be a multiple seasons affair.

51be6sbnrol-_sx318_bo1204203200_

4. The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens

I know! Dickens again?! Yes, I’m sorry but I believe this book would make for a great TV show. It’s hilarious and a lot of diverse adventures happen. I’m not holding much hope for this one but maybe one day someone with the knowledge and resources to make a TV show will realise how genius this would be.

P1050684

3. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

I’m aware that this is coming soon to Netflix and I can barely contain my excitement. I was a big fan of these series when I was younger and was extremely disappointed by the movie adaptation. I really hope the TV show will not be a let down. I think Neil Patrick Harris has the potential to be the perfect Count Olaf.

f03eba00-3df3-0133-0a1f-0e76e5725d9d

2. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Next on the list is The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I read this novel a few summers back and although it creeped the hell out of me, I still think it would make for a great TV show (although I won’t guarantee that I’d be able to watch it). This novel is part of The Cemetery of Forgotten Books series. I haven’t read the other novels in this series but will need to eventually.

shadow

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The last item on this list might be a strange one but I really think To Kill a Mockingbird could be a cool one-season series. Don’t get me wrong, I really loved the movie adaptation but I think a more contemporary adaptation could also have some value. I don’t think it would need a lot of episodes, maybe five or six.

P1050834

That’s it for this week. As always, do let me know in the comments if you’ve taken part in T5W this week.

Toodles,

Pow.

My previous T5W:

-T5W: Books you want to read before the end of the year

-T5W: Favourite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

–T5W: Favourite Character Names

T5W: Books you’re intimidated by

T5W: Fictional Cities

T5W: Books that feature travelling

T5W: Books I won’t read ever

T5W: Books I read in one sitting (or close to)

T5W: Required Readings

T5W: Tropes you hate

(Complete list of T5Wednesdayers)

2 thoughts on “T5W:Books you want to see as TV shows

Leave a Reply

