Life update: On being done with school “forever”

Hi all,

As I’ve mentioned a few posts back, I am officially done with my masters, which means I’m done with my education as a whole. I do need to wait for my dissertation to be graded to confirm that I’ve passed but I’m hoping I won’t get an unpleasant surprise. Otherwise, this post will be extremely awkward. Moreover, graduation is only a year from now but who knows where I’ll be in a year and if I will even be able to make it.

Although I didn’t really enjoy this year academically-speaking, I’ve always been a huge fan of school. When I was little, my mom had to forcefully remove me from my “summer vacation workbooks” and put me in front of the TV. I would do all the books that existed for my grade from every possible publisher. It wasn’t healthy and my mom knew it. Back-to-school shopping was also my favourite day of the year and I would spend hours choosing my new agenda and the best possible fountain pen. The enthusiasm never really died down although I did have to hide it a bit more in my later years to seem a bit cooler than I actually was.

This year was a bit of a let-down for me. I don’t feel like I’ve learnt a great deal and a lot of what we talked about was common sense. On the practical side, this masters was exactly what it needed to be. I got to meet a lot of amazing people in the publishing industry and “network” (oh how I despise this word). However, the academic content wasn’t what I’d been used to during my undergrad. I guess that was the nature of the course but I was expecting more. Because of that, I was almost relieved that this year was over, even if it meant no more school.

I am one of those people who truly believe in the saying “never say never” and it really does apply in this situation as I’m pretty sure I will go back to school eventually, at least I’m hoping I’ll have the opportunity to do so. I have a huge passion for zoology and I would love to study this subject in depth. During both my undergrad and my MA, I considered dropping everything and starting a zoology degree. I didn’t in the end but I really hope I get to pursue this route in the future. In the mean time, I’m going to have to be a proper adult and find a proper job. I did work this year to cover my living expenses so I have experience of having a real job in the real world but I have this irrational fear that once I find a permanent position, my life will be over. Talking to a lot of my friends, they feel exactly the same way, which I find reassuring. It is true that if/once I get a job, life as I know it will change but it has changed so many times before and so far, I’ve been able to deal with it. It’s also true that I won’t have as much flexibility as I did as a student but I will hopefully have more money, which brings with it a whole lot of freedom.

I’m so grateful for the education I was able to receive and for my parents’ unconditional support through the struggles that it brought and my desire to be as far from home as possible. I will never take that for granted. Although this is a scary time, full of unknowns and existential questions (Is it really what I want to do for the rest of my life? Will drinking on a Tuesday night be no longer acceptable?…), I am also excited for what this new chapter is going to bring and all the great things I’m going to be doing. In the mean time, I will always have those stunning campus pictures if I ever feel nostalgic.

ucl40-ucl-portico-111008-8846mcgill_arts_building2

Toodles,

Pow.

Leave a Reply

