T5W: Characters you would want as your family

Hi all,

I am writing this from a public computer in London, a few days before I’m due to begin my Irish adventures. If that’s not commitment I’m not sure what is. I wasn’t planning on writing blog posts during my trip but when I saw the T5W topics for this month, I couldn’t resist. I am considering writing all four posts tonight. We’ll see if I have the energy.

T5W was created by gingerreadslainey. You can find each week’s topics here.

This week’s topic is “Characters you’d want as family”. Here are my choices:

5. Liesel Meminger – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I think Liesel would be a really sweet little sister. She’s caring, touching and she enjoys reading. What’s not to like? I got very attached to her character while I was reading The Book Thief and felt for her through all the struggles and suffering she had to go through. I’d love to be her oldest sister and be able to protect her.

P1050777

4. Jem Finch – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

P1050834Jem is the best older brother to Scout in To Kill a Mockingbird and I would have loved to have him as my own older brother. I already have one but I think I have enough place in my heart for two. Jem’s relationship with his little sister is everything you can expect from an older brother: funny, protective and often annoying. As I strongly identified with the character of Scout when I read it, it’s only natural that I would consider Jem for my  own older brother.

For those who read Go set a watchman, you know how Jem’s “role” in that story made me feel (I won’t say more on the topic because I don’t want to spoil anything for those who haven’t read the book – if you want to read my spoiler-free thoughts on the story, please check out my review).

3. Mark Watney – The Martian by Andy Weir

In my opinion, the hero of The Martian would be an awesome uncle. He’s hilarious and extremely resourceful. He would be the one cracking everyone up at Christmas dinner and keeping your grandfather from talking about politics. He would also be able to teach you cool survival tricks. Plus, his stories from his time on Mars would never get boring and imagine how cool your friends would think you are for having such an interesting uncle.

P1070320

2. Professor McGonagall – Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

I think we can all agree that Minerva McGonagall would make for a kick-ass grandma. She cares for her students but she doesn’t let them get away with nonsense. She stands up to all the bullies, whether they be annoying ladies in pink or evil dark wizards.  Plus, if it comes to it, she will let you blow up bridges. How wicked is that?! Also, she’s got to be into cats which is always a good thing in my books.

tumblr_mbuq296fhs1r658q8o1_500

1. Grandpa Joe – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

The last item on this list is pretty straightforward. I’d love Grandpa Joe to be my own grandfather. He actually reminds me a lot of my own grandpa and that might be the reason why I chose him. He’s always ready for an adventure and doesn’t let age get in the way of having fun and pursuing his dreams. He cares deeply for his grandson and his family in general. Grandpa Joe is to me one of the most touching characters out there.

charlie-and-the-chocolate-factory-cover

And here you have it. I hope you enjoyed this post. I had a lot of fun writing it. Please send me the link to your own posts in the comments below. I would love to know more about your fictional families. As for me, I’m really grateful for the family I have but it’s always fun to pretend that you could hang out with your favourite literary characters. It would make family dinners way more entertaining!

Toodles,

Pow.

My previous T5Ws:

T5W: Books you want to read before the end of the year

-T5W: Favourite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

–T5W: Favourite Character Names

T5W: Books you’re intimidated by

T5W: Fictional Cities

T5W: Books that feature travelling

T5W: Books I won’t read ever

T5W: Books I read in one sitting (or close to)

T5W: Required Readings

T5W: Tropes you hate

(Complete list of T5Wednesdayers)

2 thoughts on “T5W: Characters you would want as your family

Leave a Reply

