Book review: “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline (spoiler free)

Hi all,

As promised, here is my review of Ernest Cline’s scifi novel Ready Player One. I know I’m very late with this one but I have thoughts and wanted to share them with you. Sue me!

After finishing The Old Curiosity Shop, this novel was a drastic change but a welcomed one. I found the plot was well-constructed, not too predictable. Most of all, it was very entertaining and I really needed that.

If you’re looking for an exciting, fun and quick read, this is the one for you.

51be6sbnrol-_sx318_bo1204203200_This novel tells the story of our world in about 35 years, where people are spending most of their lives playing in an alternative universe called the Oasis, created by a genius video game designer. When he died, this man left all his money to the person that would succeed in solving the epic quest he created. Since then, every player has tried to find the hidden egg in the game. However, a huge and evil corporation is trying to win the game so that they can buy the Oasis and make players pay a subscription fee that will destroy the original spirit of the game. The main character Wade is determined not to let that happen.

This book is a dream for any geek out there and for anyone obsessed with 80s movies, video games and music. I personally didn’t know a lot of the references made in the novel but I did enjoy the ones that were brought up that I could relate to. It is obvious that Cline is passionate about what he is writing about and his enthusiasm is contagious.

The only negative thing I have to say about Ready Player One is about the romantic part of the plot. I’m usually a sucker for romantic storylines but I didn’t feel it was necessary to this story and the interactions were slightly cringeworthy.

Cline also made a few valuable statements on race, gender and sexuality. However, all these topics were brought about by a single character and sorted in a couple of pages. The rest of the characters were quite two-dimensional. I think these issues would have benefited from being spread across different characters and explored a little further.

There have been words that Cline is working on a sequel and this novel definitely deserves one. Although I was happy with the ending, I’m convinced that a lot more exciting things could be written about the Oasis as well as the real world Wade lives in.

Please let me know what you thought about this novel in the comments. I’m very curious to know.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Toodles,

Pow.

 

4 thoughts on “Book review: “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline (spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

