T5W: Books you want to read before the end of the year

Hi all,

Today and as part of this week’s T5W topic, I thought I would share with you five books that I would like to read before the end of the year. I can’t believe we’re already more than halfway through the year and I’ve done so little reading this year. Time to fix that!

T5W was created by gingerreadslainey. You can find each week’s topics here.

I have chosen different books than for my Bout of Books read-a-thon TBR to try and make things a little more interesting. Speaking of the read-a-thon, it’s going alright so far and my wrap-up should go up next Monday.

With no further ado, here is the list of books I want to read before the end of the year, in no particular order.

5. Barnaby Rudge by Charles Dickens 

15924984-_uy200_

As I’m only a few pages away from finishing The Old Curiosity Shop, I only need one more Dickens novel to fulfill one of my 2016 reading goals, which was to read three Dickens novels. Next on the list is Barnaby Rudge. I don’t have a physical copy of this book yet but might start reading it on my brand new Kindle (yes, I’ve finally taken the plunge).

 

 

4. Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

IMG_20160824_095501 (1)

This book was a very recent gift from a friend and I don’t think I’ve hauled it yet. I’ve wanted to read it since she gave it to me but she warned me that it was super depressing so I am waiting until I feel mentally ready for all the feels.

 

 

 

3. Number 11 by Jonathan Coe

P1070070

I have had this book on my shelves since Christmas I believe and I really need/want to read it. I am sure it is going to be a quick read and I already know I enjoy Jonathan Coe’s writing. I just need to pick it up ASAP.

 

 

 

2. Girl Runner by Carrie Snyder

P1060821

Once again, this is a book I’ve had on my shelves for quick some time now and really want to get through before the end of the year. I don’t know much about the story but I’d like to keep it that way and go into it somewhat blindly.

 

 

  1. A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

adancewithdragonjpg-61dd28f60e998437

Finally, the last book I would like to get through this year is the last (for now) book in A Song of Ice and Fire series. Finishing this series is another of my 2016 reading goals so I need to at least try.

 

 

 

And here we are again. To be completely honest, I’m not very confident that I will have read all these books by the end of 2016 but I’m gonna give it a go.

Please share your T5W post in the comments; I would love to see what you are planning to read for the rest of the year.

Toodles,

Pow.

My previous T5W:

-T5W: Favourite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

–T5W: Favourite Character Names

T5W: Books you’re intimidated by

T5W: Fictional Cities

T5W: Books that feature travelling

T5W: Books I won’t read ever

T5W: Books I read in one sitting (or close to)

T5W: Required Readings

T5W: Tropes you hate

(Complete list of T5Wednesdayers)

3 thoughts on “T5W: Books you want to read before the end of the year

Leave a Reply

