TBR for the 17th Bout of Books Read-a-thon

Hi all,

I mentioned in my last post that I was planning on doing a read-a-thon next week to attempt to get out of my dissertation-induced reading slump. With the Olympics ending, I’m going to get some of my life back and I want to dedicate that time to reading.

I have chosen to take part in the Bout of Books read-a-thon starting on Monday and running through all of next week. I’ll be in the editing stages of my dissertation but I really need the incentive to read more so I’m still going to try very hard.

This is the 17th edition of this read-a-thon and I’ve heard great things about it so I’m excited to take part. If you want to learn more about the challenges they’ll be running throughout the week, go check their website out. All the info is on there. As far as I’m concerned, I’m not sure if I’ll be doing any of the challenges but they have some fun stuff planned.

Anyway, here is what I’m planning to read for next week. I’ve given myself a lot of options in different categories so I don’t feel too pressured to pick up a specific book.

The first priority for next week will be to finish The Old Curiosity Shop by my old friend Charles Dickens. I have a bit more than 200 pages left so it should hopefully not take me too long.

IMG_20160819_132001

After this novel, I want to read something a little more fast-pace so I’ve given myself three options: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline and The Bees by Laline Paul. Right now, I’m leaning more towards Ready Player One because it has been on my shelves for the longest. I bought it when it was talked a lot on Booktube but never got around to reading it. I’m hoping next week is the week. IMG_20160819_132118

I have also given myself three options of books for a younger audience: Le Château de ma mère by Marcel Pagnol, The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett and The Letter for the King by Tonke Dragt. The French novel is the second of four books that I all own. I really want to get through it and it would also serve me to get closer to my 2016 reading goals (I should probably update my progress on that as well…spoiler alert…it’s not good!).

IMG_20160819_132044

Finally, because I like to give myself options, I have also picked three possible classics to read: Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, Rebecca by Daphné du Maurier and Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. The first novel is the shortest but it’s apparently a long read. I’m leaning more towards Rebecca right now but we’ll see how I feel later on in the week.

IMG_20160819_132143

My main goal next week is to get as much reading done as I can while still enjoying myself. I have done a lot of tedious readings these past couple of months for my dissertation and I’m now ready to get back into leasure reading.

I’ll do a wrap-up at the end of the week and will try to update regularly on Twitter. Please let me know if you are taking part in this read-a-thon as well so we can share updates and motivate each other.

Toodles,

Pow.

2 thoughts on “TBR for the 17th Bout of Books Read-a-thon

Leave a Reply

