Life update: reading slump and big changes

Hi all,

Guess what?! I’m back!!! Who would have known?

It’s been more than six weeks since my last post and many things have changed since then. I guess that means it’s time for an update!

The main reason for my lack of blogging is that I’m currently struggling with writing my dissertation. I’m slowly making my way through it but it’s definitely killing my spirit.I’m enjoying the topic but I’ve just always struggled with the writing process.

Here is what I have had to deal with:

IMG_20160626_104943

With the dissertation, I have had very little time for leisure reading. Choosing to start reading The Old Curiosity Shop was probably not the smartest decision as I’ve been on that same novel for months. I should be able to finish it soon and will definitely try for something less chunky after that. Needless to say that my Goodreads challenge is not doing well.

In the past month or so, I also quit my job, spent two weeks in Paris, came back to London for ten days, and then moved back somewhat permanently to France. It’s always difficult for me to make decisions but once I do, they have to take effect very quickly and this time was no exception. I have now been in the South of France for two weeks and enjoying the sunshine. After living abroad for five years, I am ready to spend a bit of time in the home country.

Here is a little view of what home looks like for me (not too shabby):

IMG_20160802_195411

However, this does not mean no more traveling. To celebrate the end of my dissertation, I’m going to Ireland for three weeks in September to explore this country that I’ve always wanted to visit. I’ll be sure to write a post on my adventures when I return (hopefully not six months later).

I’ll also try to schedule posts for when I’m gone and I already have different posts in mind for the future weeks, including a readathon TBR and wrap-up, as well as a bookshelf tour. Hopefully, I’ll manage to get these out to you. Here’s to hoping!

Anyway, that was just a quick update to let you know that I’m still alive, although this dissertation is slowly killing me.

 

Toodles,

Pow.

One thought on “Life update: reading slump and big changes

Leave a Reply

