Book review: “The Martian” by Andy Weir (spoiler free)

Hi all,

As I promised in my T5W last week, I’m finally sharing with you my thoughts on the “sci-fi” novel by Andy Weir The Martian.

P1070320I am not sure I can classify this book as science-fiction because everything felt very possible. That is one of the aspects I loved about this novel; how realistic everything was even though most of the action was literally happening on a different planet. This was mainly due to the extensive scientific details Weir gives throughout the book. Each one of the main character Mark’s ideas and misfortunes is thoroughly backed up by a scientific explanation. The level of details makes it slightly difficult to get into the story at first. I was desperately trying to remember my physics and chemistry lectures from high school but my distant memories weren’t enough to make sense of everything. One thing I would have liked to see in this novel would have been a glossary of scientific terms and abbreviations. NASA uses a lot of acronyms and having to google them all did take me away from the story and broke the momentum.

Speaking of momentum, this novel just keeps on going until the last minute. Every time you think Mark and/or NASA finally have a plan, more shit happens. I had no clear idea of how the story would end which I really loved. I found the ending to be a bit sudden and would have liked the novel to continue for a couple more chapters. I guess that’s a sign that I enjoyed it a bit too much.

The last thing I wanted to mention was the tone of the story. The character of Mark is hilarious and more than half of the novel is his log entries. Therefore, you get to learn about him and enjoy his sense of humour. I wasn’t sure at first if I was going to enjoy the familiar tone he uses but it was really well done. Moreover, the alternation between Mark’s life on Mars and NASA trying to rescue him created a change of tone which added pace to the story.

I don’t have much more to say about this novel. At this point, I am sure you realise that I liked it a lot and I recommend it to anyone looking for a thrilling and fun read. I still haven’t seen the movie but will try to remediate that ASAP. Matt Damon, here I come!

Toodles,

Pow.

 

5 thoughts on “Book review: “The Martian” by Andy Weir (spoiler free)

  1. The term you might be looking for is ‘hard sci-fi’. When it’s grounded in, well, reality, with mathematics, physics, common knowledge just extrapolated out a bit, it fits into that category. 🙂

    I absolutely loved The Martian. I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If you liked it – and you sound like you did even if the technical stuff was a bit much – you should try Exodus by Andreas Christensen (not as hard, not as many acronyms, but still an enjoyable story.), I’d stay away from Neal Stephenson, as he has a bit of the epic hard in him, but Jack McDevitt’s Moonfall might make you happy 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

