T5W: Favourite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

Hi all,

I was planning on publishing my review of The Martian today but when I saw this week’s T5W topic, I decided to delay it for a little bit longer so I could share with you my favourite literary dads.

T5W was created by gingerreadslainey. You can find each week’s topics here.

Father’s Day is this Sunday in France and it seems only fair that we also honour our favourite fictional fathers.

5. Dunstan Thorne – from Stardust by Neil Gaiman

P1050695

What I really love about Tristan’s father is that he still understands what being young and in love feels like and he is able to relate to what his son is going through. He is a supportive father who does not hesitate to let his son go on what would seem to any other father to be a crazy pursuit. Heck, he even helps him get across the wall.

 

4. Mr. Bennet – from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Mr. Bennet is funny, cares about his children and enjoys to make light of his wife’s obsession with getting suitable suitors for her daughters. As the only man in his family, he often seems oblivious to the drama happening around him and to me, this makes him endearing. He is a highly criticised character but I personally really like him. His special bond with Lizzie is the perfect representation of a father-daughter relationship.

large

3. Atticus Finch – from To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

P1050834This one is an obvious choice and I don’t think it will surprise many people. Atticus is the emblematic literary father. A single dad, he was able to raise his son and daughter to be tolerant and loving at a time when the place they were growing up in was riddled with racial and social tensions. In To Kill a Mockingbird, Atticus is the dad who always knows best and has his children and his town’s best interests always at heart.

In Harper Lee’s sequel, Atticus is portrayed as less perfect of a father figure but still imposing respect. Click HERE to read my review of Go Set a Watchman.

2. Willy Loman – from Death of a Salesman  by Arthur Miller

deathofasalesmanAs I think I’ve mentioned before on this blog, Death of a Salesman is my favourite play. Willy Loman, its main character, is a depressed salesman and loving father who always wants to do more for his family. His relationship with his sons is complicated to say the least but he never stops trying to provide for them.

I don’t want to spoil the ending of the play for you but it is the ultimate example of what a father will do to help his children.

 

1. Arthur Weasley – from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

No Favourite Literary Fathers list would be complete without the best dad ever: Arthur Weasley. What can I say about this one except that if I didn’t already have an amazing dad, I would dream of becoming a Weasley. Who wouldn’t want a funny, loving, caring and selfless dad?

arthur-weasley-the-weasley-family-29462567-500-333

And a bonus one: Count Olaf from A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

Just kidding! Or maybe not…

Toodles,

Pow.

My previous T5W:

–T5W: Favourite Character Names

T5W: Books you’re intimidated by

T5W: Fictional Cities

T5W: Books that feature travelling

T5W: Books I won’t read ever

T5W: Books I read in one sitting (or close to)

T5W: Required Readings

T5W: Tropes you hate

(Complete list of T5Wednesdayers)

3 thoughts on “T5W: Favourite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

Leave a Reply

