T5W: Favourite Character Names

Hi all,

I’m back with another “Top 5 Wednesday” post.

T5W was created by gingerreadslainey. You can find each week’s topics here.

T5WI really enjoy writing these posts and there was absolutely no way I was going to pass this week’s topic. I’ve always been slightly obsessive when it comes to names. Naming new babies was my favourite part of playing The Sims and I may or may not have a list somewhere of names for future possible offspring. I’m the queen of procrastination but for that aspect of my life, I like to plan things 10 or 15 years in advance. Anyway, now that I have revealed a slightly disturbing side of my personality, here are my five favourite character names. I considered going for obscure cool-sounding elvish names but have realised that I’m more drawn towards classic and classy names. I’ve also tried to make this list as gender-balanced as possible, and I consider two of these names to be gender neutral. Now that I’m done rambling, here is the list:

5. Arya (Stark) – from A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

I’d never really thought of the name Arya before I read Martin’s books but fell in love with both the character and the name. The fact that Arya is a badass young lady gives the name that same dimension.

2014gameofthrones_aryastark_press_220414-article_x4

4. Penelope (Clearwater) – from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

I have always really loved the name Penelope; it does not seem to be very common and it sounds both cute and classy to me. I prefer the way it is pronounced in French and I’m not a big fan of the nickname “Penny” but Penelope is definitely one of my favourite names.

3. Noah (Calhoun) – from The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

noah_calhoun_2Noah has always been a name that I love. It was hard not to fall in love with the character bearing the same name during my Nicholas Sparks phase (no shame). He built her a house for crying out loud! The nicest thing a guy’s ever done for me is buy me a kebab. Mind you it was a really nice kebab but still..Plus, Ryan Gosling does justice to the name in the movie adaptation. I also really love the French version of the name: Noé. I think it’s a simple and classy boy name.

 

2. (Fitzwilliam) Darcy – from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Here is the first gender neutral name in the list. I think the name Darcy, although Jane Austen uses it as a last name, makes for a beautiful name for both a girl and a boy. Fitzwilliam is a bit too much but I like the name William so William Darcy is a good combination. I wasn’t the biggest Darcy fan while reading the novel but still really loved the name.

And for your viewing pleasure, here is a picture of Darcy from the Lizzie Bennet Diaries – do yourself a favour and YouTube it.

tumblr

1. Charlie  – from The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The last name on this list and my favourite character name is Charlie. I wrote that it’s from The Perks of Being a Wallflower but I could also have mentioned Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, one of my favourite childhood reads. Charlie is such a cool name and I like that it can be suitable for both genders.

And here we are. I think this list both shows how, at times, the personality of the character is what draws you to the name, while for others, you appreciate the fact that a character has a name you already love. Hopefully, this post hasn’t made me sound too much like a creep. I have a feeling it might had. Until next time…

Toodles,

Pow.

My previous T5W:

T5W: Books you’re intimidated by

T5W: Fictional Cities

T5W: Books that feature travelling

T5W: Books I won’t read ever

T5W: Books I read in one sitting (or close to)

T5W: Required Readings

T5W: Tropes you hate

(Complete list of T5Wednesdayers)

7 thoughts on “T5W: Favourite Character Names

Leave a Reply

