T5W: Books you’re intimidated by

Hi all,

I have not done a Top 5 Wednesday post since last September. I found it hard to find books to fit in with the topics and when I did feel inspired by a topic, time got in the way. Not this time! Although I have a ton of deadlines and just want to curl up in bed and sleep for two days, I am going to share with you the Top 5 books that intimidate me. These books have been on my mental TBR for a while now but I have just been too afraid to take the plunge!

T5W was created by gingerreadslainey. You can find each week’s topics here.

5. The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss

cover_277

I am a big fantasy fan but I also often find the size of the books really intimidating. I have heard amazing things about this novel and I definitely want to get my hands on it at some point but I’m still trying to get through the fourth book in the Song of Ice and Fire series. I am enjoying it but it is taking forever.

 

 

4. Les Misérables – Victor Hugo

les-miserables-83116

If you have been following my blog for a while, you will know that I really love Classics, but once again, the size of them can put me off at times. I have read some of Hugo’s poetry but have never picked up his plays or his novels. I love the literature from his period and I am sure I will enjoy this novel. I already know most of the story but I really want to experience Hugo’s writing first hand.

 

 

3. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez 

1399039575999

I am always interested in reading more foreign literature, although I sadly don’t do it as much as I would like to. This novel has been on my list for years and I think that the foreign aspect might be what’s holding me back. I will have to get out of my comfort zone and that always asks for a bit more effort.

 

 

 

2. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy

290979-_uy200_

Since I took a Russian Literature class during my undergrad, I have wanted to read this book. It is crazy long but is such an important classic. I started watching the BBC adaptation but the soundtrack creeped me out and I did not get past the third episode. That might not be a good sign for when I actually decide to read the book but I really hope I get around to it.

 

1. The Silmarillion – J.R.R. Tolkien

silmarillionbook_lr

The last book on this list is a bit of a weird choice but I think The Silmarillion is the most intimidating title I currently have on my TBR. I think it’s due to the fact that it’s more of a background story of the foundation of Middle Earth rather than an epic adventure like LOTR. I might be totally wrong on that but that’s my impression and the reason why I am intimidated. I do want to know more about Tolkien’s world and hope that I will get over my fears.

 

That’s it folks! Please share your own T5W post with me in the comments. I would love to see the books that you keep staring at on your bookshelves but are too afraid to pick up.

Toodles,

Pow.

My previous T5W:

T5W: Fictional Cities

T5W: Books that feature travelling

T5W: Books I won’t read ever

T5W: Books I read in one sitting (or close to)

T5W: Required Readings

T5W: Tropes you hate

(Complete list of T5Wednesdayers)

5 thoughts on “T5W: Books you’re intimidated by

Leave a Reply

