Book review: “Me before you” by Jojo Moyes (Spoiler free)

Hi all,

So more than two weeks ago I said I was going to review Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Then came assignments and interviews, then came Easter, and now April is here and I still have to deliver on my promise. So without further ado, here is my review.

Let me first start by this short disclaimer:

This book will ruin your day…but in a good way!

What is it about?

This book is the story of Lou, a quirky girl who’s never left her small town, and Will, an adventurous man who is now paraplegic and forced to live the rest of his days being taken care of by his family and pitied by strangers. Lou is hired to keep Will company and they both learn about what makes life worth living and dying for.

Oh the feels!

I picked up this book after watching the trailer for the movie adaptation (Sam Claflin, amiright?!). I thought that, after having read Room by Emma Donoghue (review HERE), I needed a pick-me-up. Well, that didn’t work out as planned! I chose to ignore all the reviews on the cover, the back and inside the book, that said that this book will end up leaving me curled up in a ball crying. I should have prepared myself more.

It is a sad story but I kept rooting for the characters until the end. Although they are not always relatable, I found the characters (except for Will’s sister who I found really annoying) endearing.

The Romance ❤

P1070265I’m not one for romance novels usually. After my Nicholas Sparks phase when I was 16, I stirred away from the genre. Although I’m a big fan of rom coms, I rarely read chick lit. I was taken aback by the writing style at first and it took me about 20 pages to get accustomed to it. However, once I got over that, I was hooked by the story. It is not a highly literary read and I was not blown away by the sentence construction or use of metaphors, but the way the relationships were pushed forward was enough to keep me interested.

I read this novel in a few days despite all the many other things I had to do. It had been a long time since I’d wanted to get home from university or work to finish a book. The story is THAT compelling. I think this novel, despite the simple writing style, has reconciled me with the genre and I will probably pick up the sequel After You at some point.

My conflicted feelings about the ending

When I finished this novel, I was very sad for obvious reasons that you will know if or when you read the book, but I was also a bit mad at the author. As Sookie once said in Gilmore Girls, I was SMAD! It reminded me a lot of when I finished Dear John by Nicholas Sparks (the ending in the book has nothing to do with the movie).

This ending raised important questions that I thought I already knew my answers to, but I had to re-evaluate my own perspective. For those who have read this novel, I’m interested to know what you thought of the ending. I can’t say much more without giving anything away so I will stop there. 

Rating: 3.5 stars (I’m terrible at rating books but I hope the overall review gives a clearer idea of what I thought).

Toodles,

Pow.

One thought on “Book review: “Me before you” by Jojo Moyes (Spoiler free)

Leave a Reply

