A very Dickensian book haul

Hi all,

In the past couple of months or so, I have accumulated quite a number of books (what’s new?!) and wanted to share them with you. You will notice that Charles Dickens is a recurring theme throughout the list (once again, what’s new?!). Anyway, here it is:

  1. The Letter For The King by Tonke Dragt

P1070264I bought this book online from the Pushkin Press website. After subscribing to this great publisher’s newsletter, I got 25% off my next purchase and I couldn’t resist. I have been wanting to read this book basically since it first came out and Sanne from booksandquills mentioned it. Pushkin Press publishes translated works and this novel is a children’s book translated from Dutch. It tells the story of a young boy who goes searching for a letter. I don’t know much else about the plot but I’m excited to dive into this foreign classic.

I bought the special winter edition of the novel because the cover is absolutely gorgeous.

 

P10702602. The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens

I found this book in a quirky secondhand bookstore in Canterbury (more on that in a future post) and had to buy it. I couldn’t get my hand on the Penguin English Library edition of this novel so I decided to buy this version instead and get over my obsession for matching spines.

This novel is the next on my TBR works by Dickens and I am looking forward to it.

 

3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

P1070265After reading Room by Emma Donoghue (find my review here), I needed a pick-me-up. After watching the trailer for the movie adaption of Me Before You, coming out in June and starring Sam Claflin, I knew I had to read this book. I have not read a lot of romance apart from my short-lived Nicholas Sparks stage when I was 16. This book was very far from what I expected.

I read it very quickly and have a lot of things to say about it so there will be a review up on this blog very soon. For now, I am just going to say that this is not an uplifting read, nope, this made me feel like crap for an entire day so be ready for that.

4. Stoner by John Williams

P1070266

The next three books in this list are part of a 3-for-2 deal because I just can’t resist them apparently. This novel is the last one I picked up because I found the synopsis interesting. The book follows the ordinary life of an English professor at an American university.

Although the plot doesn’t seem that exciting, I think there is space for the exploration of common life struggles and I am looking forward to see how the author approaches them.

 

5. The Bees by Laline Paull

P1070267

I have heard amazing things about this novel and needed to check it out for myself. I am not sure how to explain what it is about. It sounds very dystopian and metaphorical. Needless to say, I’m intrigued. I’ll be sure to write a review once I get to it and hopefully, at that point, I’ll be able to tell you what it is all about.

Also, the cover looks brilliant!

 

P1070270

 

6. The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell
I have been eyeing this book since I started my masters. In our first week of classes, one of the guest speakers was the person in charge of the marketing campaign for this novel and when she showed us the cover, I was sold. To be honest, I have no idea what this is about, nor have I ever read any books by David Mitchell, but the cover was too beautiful to resist.

To be fair, I have heard good reviews of the story as well so this is not a complete impulse buy (who am I kidding?).

7. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens 

P1070261

 

One of my friends was having a little library clean-up and was giving away this book. How could I say no to Dickens?

I won’t be getting to this one for a while at the rate I’m going but I’m glad I have it for when I do reach that point in my Dickens adventure.

 

 

 

8. Charles Dickens: a lifetime of storytelling; a legacy of change

I picked up this last book on a complete whim while walking through Waterstones for a school project. It is gorgeous, full of flaps, illustrations and letters that give the reader an insight into Charles Dickens’ life. Every page is filled with different components, as the picture hopefully shows you. I am looking forward to dive into my favourite author’s world!

And here we are; another book haul has come to an end. Until next time,

Toodles,

Pow.

 

 

Leave a Reply

