On Rereading (Harry Potter)

Hi all,

Long time no speak once again! In the two weeks I was gone, I finally finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. If you’ve been following me since the start, you might remember that last year, one of my reading goals was to reread the Harry Potter series. Well, better late than never!

I’m not usually one for rereading books. I believe that there are many books out there waiting to be discovered and it sometimes seems like a waste of time to reread what I already know. However, there are two occasions where I don’t follow that rule.

The first one is when a new book from a series I’m reading comes out. With my pathetic memory, I always have to reread the books that came before the new release or I’m just left in a state of utter confusion for the first half of the story.

The second is that, when it comes to Harry Potter, I have no problem rereading. I’ve reread the first few novels many, many, many times, always with the intention of rereading the whole series but for some reason, something always got in the way.

The experience of rereading a series that means so much to me was a bit nerve-wracking. What if I didn’t like it anymore? No risk of that thankfully but I was still apprehensive of my impressions. I’ve always considered myself a huge Harry Potter fan and as cheesy as this might sound, these books are definitely a part of who I am. Hence, I was afraid that my thoughts on the series would change and I would be forced to go through an identity crisis (dramatic much?!).

Rereading the first three novels was not the best part of the experience. What I enjoyed most was rereading the last three books in the series, because they are the ones I’m less familiar with. I always considered the fourth book to be my favourite but I think it is now tied with the last one. The first three novels are great but I enjoyed the character developments that come with the second half of the series, as well as seeing how everything comes together. There were so many little elements of the plot that I’d completely forgotten about.

Even after having read the books and watched the movies many times, I still cried when something tragic or something great happened. I was afraid that all of these moments would have lost their special effect on me because I was already aware of them but they really didn’t.


 

What I found from this rereading experience is that, diving into a book you already know is a comfortable and comforting experience. I wanted to read Room before Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows but I was struggling with anxiety that week so I decided to go back to what I knew would help me relax.

It’s important to know before rereading that you can’t expect to feel exactly the same way you did the first time you discovered the story. However, you will sometimes find new things to love about it.

What are YOUR thoughts on rereading?

P1070250

PS: I got sorted into Hufflepuff in the new Pottermore and, as a self-identified Ravenclaw, I really don’t know how to feel about that.

Toodles,

Pow.

One thought on “On Rereading (Harry Potter)

  1. Books are old friends to me. I have a few books that I will always re-read, especially if I’m stressed out. Its like touching base with someone you haven’t seen in forever, and just talking about happy memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

