Book Haul (finally!)

Wow! So the return to adult life was much harder than I anticipated. I’ve been caught in a vortex of assignments, work and sweaty tube journeys. Also Alan Rickman passed away and I am not sure how to handle that piece of information.

Anyway, before I burst into tears, I’ll get started on the Book Haul that I promised. I’ve got quite a few books in this one, a lot that I’ve been given or gifted and many others that I bought myself as I am just a weak, weak book lover.

Here we go:

1. Number 11 by Jonathan Coe

P1070070

 

This book was a Christmas present from my godfather who already knew my appreciation for Coe’s work as he was the one who bought me Expo 58. I’m really excited to get into this book. The blurb is relatively vague but I’m curious to see what Coe has in store this time.

 

 

2. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

P1070068I got this beautiful edition of Alice’s stories from the bookstore of the Bodleian Library in Oxford, probably one of the most beautiful place I have ever visited and the setting for multiple Harry Potter scenes. Oxford is also a place where Lewis Carroll used to hang out so Alice is very present throughout the town (I am planning to write a post on my Oxford experience in the near future).

I think I read part of Alice in Wonderland when I was 11 and could barely speak English so my recollections of the story are very hazy. I did watch the Tim Burton movie but I’m not convinced it was a really faithful adaptation. Therefore, reading the original stories is definitely on my TBR.

3. Room by Emma Donoghue

P1070067.jpg

I received this book at the Society of Young Publisher’s (SYP) annual conference in Oxford. I had heard a lot about this novel when I worked at a library back in Canada and I have wanted to read it ever since. Now that I own the book and that the film adaptation is out, I have no more excuses.

 

4. This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

P1070066.jpg

My first proof! I received this book at the end of last year from one of my instructors. The cover says it should be published in January but apparently it was published in late December. Either way, I still have not read it but the story seems really interesting. According to Goodreads, it’s about a 17 year-old girl who has to act as the adult as her family is falling apart but who falls in love while having to deal with all these issues. I’m hoping to review this sometime soon.

 

The three following books are all from the Oxford University Press bookstore (I’m a sucker for ‘3 for 2’ deals. I’m a marketing dream!).

5. Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

Living so close to Bloomsbury, I’ve been wanting to read more from Woolf this year, as she was a prominent member of the Bloomsbury group. I’ve heard so many great things from this novel that I thought I would use it as a starting point into hopefully more of Woolf.

6. Dracula by Bram Stoker

For some reason, I always mix up Dracula and Frankenstein but I trust that if I read at least one of them, I will never make that mistake again! I had to read Frankenstein for one of my literature courses but never got around it so Dracula it is!

7. The Jungle Books by Rudyard Kipling

I have to admit that the main reason I bought this book was for the gorgeous cover but I do want to read it. I feel like a trip to the jungle would be a good way to take a break from grey and cold London.

P1070059.jpg

8. A Very Short Introduction to Modernism

P1070057

This little book was given to me at a conference by the Oxford University Press team. I’ve heard a lot about this collection which aim is to give a quick but complete introduction to a concept or period. I chose Modernism because it is a period that has always confused me and I really want to learn more about it.

 

9 & 10. Le Temps des secrets and Le Temps des amours by Marcel Pagnol

These two books were a Christmas gift from my brother and are the two remaining novels in the Souvenirs D’Enfance collection. As I mentioned in my 2016 Reading Goals, I want to read more French literature and finishing this collection would be a good way to get that done.P1070054.jpg

11. Of Street Piemen by Henry Mayhew

This is a short story from the Penguin Little Black Classics collection. I got it in the SYP goodie bag as well. All I know about it is that it is about Victorian London – my favourite kind of setting.

P1070050

12. The Great Winglebury Duel by Charles Dickens

Another Penguin Little Black Classics. This one was a present from my best friend who is really aware of my love for Dickens. The book contains two stories from Dickens’ Sketches by Boz.

13. The Signalman by Charles Dickens

P1070048

I couldn’t resist spending £2 on this gorgeous little book containing an introduction and two of Dickens’ stories, The Signalman and The Boy at Mugby.

One of my goals this year is to read these short stories as a way to get out of my reading comfort zone and try a new format.

 

14. The Complete Novels in One Sitting – Charles Dickens

P1070047.jpg

This is another book I bought at the Bodleian Library, a really tiny one. It basically gives you a summary of Dickens’ main works, which is good for someone like me who has the memory of a goldfish.

 

15. Bonus: The Little Book of Corgi Charm

P1070044I got this book as a secret santa gift and it made me so happy. I love corgis as much as I love monkeys, as much as I love saucisson and as much as I love reading when it’s raining outside. When I am a proper adult with a house, I’ll have a corgi named Banjo and he’ll wear a bowtie everywhere he goes. This book is a great stress reliever, just a succession of silly corgis doing silly stuff (although none of them is wearing a bowtie so that’s a bit of a let down).

And here we are. I hope you enjoyed this fairly long post. If you made it to the end, CONGRATULATIONS.

Toodles,

Pow.

One thought on “Book Haul (finally!)

Leave a Reply

