2015 Reading Wrap-up

Another year has ended and I can’t believe how fast it has gone by. This year has brought many changes: a new country, a new job, a new school and amazing new friends (and a new blog too!). Although the first half of the year was a bit too calm, the second half was exciting and exhausting, with very little time to sit down and pick up a book.

At the end of every year, I always feel like I could have read more books if I hadn’t spent so much time playing Candy Crush or being subject to a YouTube trance. Although this is very true, it’s too late for me to change anything for 2015.


 

In 2015, I read 20 books. This number is not very impressive for me but considering the size of a lot of these books, I’m quite pleased with myself.

Here is the complete list of what I read in 2015:

1. A Song of Ice and Fire: Vol 1. A Game of Thrones – George R.R. Martin

The first book I read in 2015 was the first volume of the A Song of Ice and Fire series. I loved diving into Martin’s writing and getting to know the world of Westeros.

2. Harry Potter and the Philosopher Stone – J.K. Rowling

Another series I wanted to (re)read this year was Harry Potter and I started early on.

3. The Pickwick Papers – Charles Dickens

At the beginning of 2015, I decided to read more of Dickens’ novels. I chose to do it in chronological order and started with The Pickwick Papers. I wrote a QOTW post to illustrate the quality of Dickens’ writing.

4. Stardust – Neil Gaiman 

After having been a fan of the movie adaptation of Stardust for years, I thought it was time for me to read the book. I finally did and was a bit disappointed. I shared my thoughts in a post discussing book to movie adaptations.

5. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J.K. Rowling

6. A Song of Ice and Fire: Vol 2. A Clash of Kings – George R.R. Martin

7. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J.K. Rowling

8. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

With the release of Go Set a Watchman, I really wanted to reread Harper Lee’s first novel. I did and I shared a line in a QOTW post.

9. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens

My second and last Dickens book to have completed this year is Oliver Twist (I’m almost through Nicholas Nickleby). I wrote a QOTW post on this second novel because I never get tired of Dickens’ writing.

10. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry – Gabrielle Zevin

After the hype this novel received on BookTube, I had to check it out and I was really happy I did. I wrote a review of Zevin’s novel and also shared an extract of the text as part of a QOTW post.

11. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K. Rowling

I wrote a QOTW post on the fourth instalment of J.K. Rowling’s series.

12. Us – David Nicholls

I bought this book on my way back from Canada and read it shortly after. As One Day was and still is one of my favourite novels, I wrote a review to share my thoughts on Nicholls’ new book and how it compared to his bestseller.

13. A Song of Ice and Fire: Vol 3. A Storm of Swords – George R.R. Martin

In 2015, I conquered the first three books of the A Song of Ice and Fire series. I shared a quote from this book in one of my WAYRW post.

14. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – J.K. Rowling

This one is the last book of the series I read this year. Two left to rediscover before I can finally write the long-promised post on the experience of rereading.

15. Get Up To Speed With Online Marketing – Jon Reed

I read this book as preparation for starting my MA. I’d never read a book of this sort and wrote a post on my impressions.

16. Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell

I tried YA literature again and shared my feelings in a review.

17. 100 Acts of Minor Dissent – Mark Thomas

I had to read this book for one of my modules this semester and although its relevance to what we were studying is still unclear to me, I did enjoy it. I very quickly reviewed it in my last Book Haul.

18. Inside Book Publishing – Giles Clark

This book was another one assigned to me for my MA and although it took me a while to get through, it is absolutely brilliant if you’re looking into a career in publishing or are genuinely interested in getting a detailed look at what books go through before getting into your hands.

19. La Gloire de Mon Père – Marcel Pagnol

I have just realised that this is the only French book I’ve read this year and I’m slightly ashamed by this fact. I briefly mentioned it and the collection it belongs to in my previous Book Haul.

20. The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton

My last completed book of 2015 was a great one, and I explained why in my review. I also mentioned this novel in one of my WAYRW post.

P1070021.JPG
This picture is a sample of what I’ve read this year. Some books are back in London and I can’t find my copy of HP and the Philosopher Stone (I’m freaking out a little bit)!

If you want to look at what my 2015 Reading Goals were and laugh at my failing at most of them, please feel free to do so!

I will be posting my 2016 Reading Goals very shortly so keep an eye out for that. In the meantime, I wish you all a very happy new year and I hope it is full of joy, peace, great health and beautiful books.

Toodles,

Pow.

 

5 thoughts on “2015 Reading Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

