What are you reading wednesday?

Hi everyone,

I know I’ve been AWOL for a while and I apologise. Juggling school and work doesn’t let me much time for anything else, especially reading. However, I’ve been trying very hard to make it part of my daily routine and to try to pick up a book whenever I have some down time. I’m not getting through many pages but at least I’m trying.

To make up for my absence, I wanted to share with you what I am reading at the moment.

‘What Are You Reading Wednesday’ is a segment hosted by itsareadingthing.com in which you have to answer three questions pertaining to the book you are currently reading. The questions are as follows:

What are you reading wednesday1. What’s the name of your current read?

2. Go to page 34 in your book or 34% in your eBook and share one complete sentence.

3. Would you like to live in the world that exists within your book? Why or why not?

Here are my answers for this week:

1. What’s the name of your current read?

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. I bought this book a while ago and featured it in my Colourful Book Haul. I hadn’t got around to reading it when, a couple weeks ago, the editor from Picador came to give my MA class a talk. During her speech, she mentioned her work on this novel and her enthusiasm picked my interest so I decided to give it a go.

2. Go to page 34 in your book or 34% in your eBook and share one complete sentence.

There are only three complete sentences on page 34 of this novel so my choices were very restricted. Here is my favourite: “Johannes strides out of the front door, and Nella hears the velvet suck of air, the outside once more shut away.” The writing in this novel is beautiful, although I’m having a hard time getting used to the present tense.

3. Would you like to live in the world that exists within your book? Why or why not?

The story takes place in Amsterdam and Holland is one of my favourite place in the world so I would say yes. However, the atmosphere of this book is really eerie so maybe not. I’ll let you know my final decision once I’m done.

And that’s all I’ve got for you today. Sorry for the lack of posts. I’ll try to be better! Let me know in the comments if there is anything you’d like me to write about (tags, MA experience…)!

Toodles,

Pow.

One thought on “What are you reading wednesday?

Leave a Reply

