Life Update: F.O.M.O.

Today is one of those days where I need to dump my thoughts somewhere to make my head just a little bit lighter. This platform seems the appropriate place to do so. Then again, it might not be. Sorry.

I have a confession to make: I am a huge sufferer of F.O.M.O. For those of you that are not familiar with the term, F.O.M.O. stands for Fear Of Missing Out. This acronym is a bit tricky and I’ve caught myself saying MOFO many times but it does encompass what I am often feeling.

I am one of those people who can never say ‘no’ to an opportunity and if, for some unforeseen reason, I have to, it makes me physically ill to think about what I might be missing out on.

F.O.M.O. can be a very positive thing. I don’t think being daring and getting out of my comfort zone is negative at all. On the contrary, I get to experience amazing things that I wouldn’t have if I had said ‘no’.

However, F.O.M.O. is sometimes a burden on my tiny shoulders. If I’m not able to do something because of a time conflict, sickness or any other reason, I have a very hard time getting over it and I torture myself. I can’t stop thinking of what could have been if I had gone to that party or eaten the fish instead of the chicken; F.O.M.O. can take over your brain for the most insignificant choices.
I remember one specific instance where F.O.M.O. was particularly though to handle. I was 15 and in love for the first time. Nothing had happened but he had invited me to the cinema for Valentine’s Day. How romantic, right? Well, being 15 and completely dependent on my mom’s ability to drive, I was waiting for her to come back from whatever she was doing to give me a ride to the theater. Lo and behold, she arrived an hour late and my movie date was ruined. To be honest, stuck up as I was, nothing would have happened if I had gone to see that movie anyway but it was hard to believe that at the time. Also, the boy in question wasn’t really happy about being stood up… but we’re still friends now so all is well!

I do have a more recent example of my experience with F.O.M.O. At the end of the month, I’m starting my MA in Publishing. I’ve had to get a part-time job to be able to afford life in London. I am really happy about this opportunity, and the fact that I won’t starve is always a plus. However, this also means that I will be missing out on other opportunities because a week is only made of 7 days and not 10. I’ve already had to say no to great seminars and internships and it was very hard to do. I would love to be able to do a publishing internship and gain first-hand experience of the industry but I can’t afford to work for free at the moment. I can’t do everything at the same time no matter how hard I try and I need to be OK with that. Easier said than done when you have a serious case of the F.O.M.O.

Now that I’m done word-vomiting all over this blog, I think I’ll leave you with a pretty picture taken from Greenwich Park when London knew what Summer was.

P1060475

My next post will be the first installment of Classics Week. I hope you’re ready for it because I am.

Toodles,

Pow.

2 thoughts on “Life Update: F.O.M.O.

  1. We definitely need to find a healthy balance between saying ‘yes’ and ‘no’ to opportunities. I myself have a difficulty with saying yes. I definitely need to step out of my comfort zone more often. It’s just hard to do things differently than we’ve always done. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment. You’re absolutely right; balance is key. It’s also important to listen to our bodies and minds to know how far we can push ourselves to do new things. Trying something new once a day or once a month is always really beneficial 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

