T5W: Fictional Cities

Hi all,

Today I’m coming at you with another Top 5 Wednesday. T5W was created by gingerreadslainey. You can find each week’s topics here.

T5W

This week’s topic is fictional cities. Disclaimer: I included towns as well.

Because I don’t read a lot of sci-fi or dystopian novels, these examples all come from fantasy novels.

With that in mind, here are my Top 5 fictional cities:

5. Wall – Stardust by Neil Gaiman

My vision of Wall is mostly based on the novel even though I read it after having seen the movie. I picture Wall as a very tranquil English village with a magical atmosphere. What I loved most about it was the sense of community that seemed to radiate through the village.

I would love to live in a place like Wall. Having lived in cities for 4 years now, I miss the quiet village life.

4. Minas Tirith – The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien

The second item on this list is the majestic city of Minas Tirith, the city of Kings. My love for Minas Tirith is mostly due to the beautiful cinematography of the movie adaptation. I love how it stands so tall opposite the mountains of Mordor and how it is surrounded by open fields. Minas Tirith is also the host of the most amazing library so I couldn’t not include it in this list.

I think I’d be a bit terrified to live in Minas Tirith because of its proximity to Mordor but I can’t deny the city’s beauty and history.

3. Pentos – A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

One of my favourite cities from A Song of Ice and Fire is Pentos. So far in my reading (I finished Book 3), it has only been described at the beginning of the first book but I immediately fell in love with it. The free cities in general have this Mediterranean vibe to them that makes me think of home. Pentos in particular seems to be rich with good food, good wine and vibrant sun. I know that Master Illyrio is not the best person but I wouldn’t mind hanging out in his mansion/palace.

I think Pentos would be a great place to stay for a holiday and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the Narrow Sea.

2. Hobbiton – The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings has so many beautiful places that it was hard to limit my choice to only one. My ultimate favourite place from the trilogy is Hobbiton. To be honest, the entire Shire is my dream setting. The harmony between hobbits and nature just makes for a peaceful atmosphere that I would love to be a part of.

I would love to live in Hobbiton. I’m pretty short so I think I could pass for a Hobbit (although I lack the hairy feet).

  1. Hogsmeade – The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Finally, my number one fictional town is without a doubt Hogsmeade. What I wouldn’t give to spend a day roaming around its streets, buying candies at Honeydukes and love potions at Zonko’s Joke Shop. I would love to have a butterbeer at the Three Broomsticks, ideally sharing it with Ron (a girl can dream).

I’d really like to go to Harry Potter World one day to get a bit closer to that experience. I’m writing this post on the 1st of September and I so wish I was on the Hogwarts Express right now.

And here we are. I really enjoyed this week’s topic. Leave me a link to your posts in the comments.

My previous T5W:

T5W: Books that feature travelling

T5W: Books I won’t read ever

T5W: Books I read in one sitting (or close to)

T5W: Required Readings

T5W: Tropes you hate

(Complete list of T5Wednesdayers)

Toodles,

Pow.

4 thoughts on “T5W: Fictional Cities

Leave a Reply

