Quote of the Week – QOTW #14

Hi all,

I haven’t done a QOTW in a while so I thought today would be a good day to bring you another one of my favourite quotations. I’m currently reading Nicholas Nickleby by Charles Dickens and I’ve found a lot of beautiful passages so far.

Here is one for you:

P1060491
once again…potato quality… I’ll make more of an effort I promise

‘If we all had hearts like those which beat so lightly in the bosoms of the young and beautiful, what a heaven this earth would be! If, while our bodies grew old and withered, our hearts could but retain their early youth and freshness, of what avail would be our sorrows and sufferings! But the faint image of Eden which is stamped upon them in childhood, chafes and rubs in our rough struggles with the world, and soon wears away: too often to leave nothing but a mournful blank remaining.’

Nicholas Nickleby – Charles Dickens

This quote is a tad on the depressing side but I thought it described perfectly the nostalgia that I sometimes feel for my innocent and younger self. It’s hard not to become cynical when we see what is happening in the world at the moment. There are not a lot of reasons to be lighthearted. I haven’t finished the book so I can’t tell you if the ending turns this quote upside down by showing that hope is still possible but I’m hoping it does (see what I did there!).

Hope you enjoyed this long-awaited QOTW, let me know in the comments if you like these posts so I know to write more. It’s always motivating to know that people actually enjoy reading what I write.

Toodles,

Pow.

Leave a Reply

