T5W: Top 5 Tropes You Hate

It’s another Top 5 Wednesday. This week’s topic was too good not to write about.

T5W

T5W was created by gingerreadslainey. You can find each week’s topics here.

Here are the Top 5 tropes I love to hate (Warning: this will include spoilers)

 5. The Forced Perfect Ending

I’m not sure if this counts as a trope but I’m including it anyway.

Although I’m a big supporter of happy endings, I like them to be a logical continuation and conclusion to the story. Sometimes, it feels like the author is trying too hard to make the reader happy that he or she forgets the essence of the plot.

The most obvious example to me is the ending of the Harry Potter series. The final chapter with the 16 year jump ahead was a big disappointment for me. Everyone’s happy; Remus’ son is great; they all have cute and aptly-named children; it should be the perfect ending for the series.Well, I’m sorry if I offend anyone but I really don’t think it was. I understand all the symbols used in this last chapter, how the new orphan boy is going to grow up happier than Harry because he has Harry to take care of him, how all of Harry and Ginny’s children are named after significant people in the story, but all these allusions seemed forced to me. I hate to bring numbers into the mix but I’m not sure that the statistics agree on two siblings marrying their high-school sweethearts and staying together for this long.

It has been said that this ending wasn’t the only one J.K. Rowling came up with. I would be very curious to see the alternatives.

4. Manic pixie dream girl

This trope is one that I cannot get over. I just can’t appreciate the character of the perfect yet mysterious girl that leads a simple boy to do something extraordinary. Maybe it’s because I can’t identify with this type of characters, or maybe it’s because I know they don’t exist and are just a way for the author to rehash an overdone love plot.

An example that I believe most people will think of is Margo from Paper Towns. Once again, I’m dissing John Green, I apologise, but I really didn’t enjoy this novel. I didn’t like Margo and I came to dislike Quentin for being stupid enough to be enthralled by her teenage need for attention.

3. Love and Tragic Illness 

I don’t mind books that deal with illnesses because they are a part of life and as tragic as they are, you can’t always ignore them. The way the characters deal with their condition can be beautifully told and does not necessarily have to be melodramatic.

However, books that mix a tragic illness with a very intense love story just upset me. You’re probably thinking of The Fault in Our Stars and yes, but not only. The book that really exemplifies this trope for me is A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks. What I hate the most about this trope is that often, the story just ends up being about the other person rather than the sick one. The disease’s importance is given away to the melodrama.

This novel did make me sob but I think the author used the easiest way to provoke emotions.

2. Byronic heroes

You’ll have to excuse the literature student in me for this one but a type of character that I have a hard time with is the Byronic hero. This expression comes from the author Lord Byron and defines a typically arrogant, anti-social, dark, rebellious, yet enticingly romantic antihero.

A famous example of a Byronic hero is Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights. How I despise him! And how I despise Catherine for loving him! I have a lot of issues with this novel but Heathcliff is the biggest one.

A modern example of a Byronic hero would probably be Christian Grey from 50 Shades of Grey. I’ve seen the movie and he seems to fit the criteria quite well.

 1. Insta-love

And for my least favourite trope, I give you Insta-love. I can’t deal with the old trick of ‘they bump into each other and realise they are meant to be’.

A contemporary example of this would be The Fault in Our Stars (yes John Green again). I can understand them falling in love after having shared their story but the guy falling in love with a girl who he has never spoken to and who has tubes coming out of her nostrils, I’m sorry I’m not buying it.

A less contemporary example would be Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare. Committing suicide for a 13 year-old girl you’ve met three days ago is a bit extreme. Chill out dude!

And we’ve reached the end of this T5W. Hope you’ve enjoyed it. Don’t forget to link your own posts in the comments.

If you want to check out my other T5Ws:

T5W: Books that feature travelling

T5W: Books I won’t read ever

T5W: Books I read in one sitting (or close to)

T5W: Required Readings

(Complete list of T5Wednesdayers)

Toodles,

Pow.

5 thoughts on “T5W: Top 5 Tropes You Hate

Leave a Reply

