Colourful Book Haul

Who’s got some new books? I have!

One of my colleagues gave me a 20% voucher to WHSmith so I felt obliged to go buy some books. I had to contain my excitement and managed to get out of the store with only 3 books and a not-so-traumatised purse.

Here is what I got:

               Go set a watchman – Harper Lee

P1060453I don’t think you’ll be surprised by this one as I’ve been talking about it for a while.

I don’t know much about the plot and I want to keep it that way. The only thing I heard was fairly upsetting so I’d rather not upset you as well.

I’m really excited for this one; I’m hoping it lives up to the build-up.

(I wrote a post a while back on the controversy surrounding the publication of this novel: read it HERE.)

Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell

P1060451I’m trying YA again; I haven’t given up yet. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Rainbow Rowell and I wanted to see for myself.

This is a story of teenage love and apparently, it’s a heartbreaking one…something to look forward to. I didn’t realise before I bought it that the quote on the cover is from John Green. Had I seen that, I might have changed my mind as I’m not too keen on the couple of books I’ve read from him. Anyway, I’m hoping Rainbow Rowell offers something different.

I’m excited to read this novel as a short and sweet break between two larger ones.

The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton

P1060449I’ve been hearing aboutThe Miniaturist for a while on Booktube and the overall consensus is that it’s a really good read.

What I’ve gathered from the story is that it’s set in Amsterdam and that a young woman called Nella marries an older man named Johannes who offers her a miniature replica of their home (a bit reminiscent of All the light we cannot see). Nella hires a miniaturist to mirror the changes she makes in her home and the story takes an eerie turn from there.

I’m not one for spooky books usually (I almost didn’t get through The Shadow of the Wind and it was just slightly scary) but I feel like this one won’t be too bad, hopefully. It’s probably not scary at all…

That’s it for this haul. If you’ve read any of these books, let me know what you thought (no spoilers please). I probably won’t get to them in a little while as I’m still slowly making my way through Nicholas Nickleby, but when I do, I’ll make sure to write reviews.

If you want to take a look at my previous book haul, HERE it is!

Sorry for the potato quality of these pictures; the lighting was failing me and I had nothing cute to make them pinterest-looking!

P1060457
Look at all these pretty colours

Toodles,

Pow.

3 thoughts on “Colourful Book Haul

  1. Interested to see what you think about Harper Lee’s new novel- I’m scared to read it from what I’ve heard haha
    Hope you check out my debut novel THE WAITING ROOM- I’d love to hear your thoughts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

