Half-yearly / Biannual / Six-months (more like 7 months) Wrap-up

Back in January, I wrote a blog post about some of my Reading Plans for 2015. Today, I wanted to take a look back at how I’m doing and take you through all the books i’ve read so far this year. Some books I have already mentioned so I will make sure to link you to the relevant posts.

  • A Song of Ice and Fire series – George R.R. Martin

The first element on my TBR list this year is the famous fantasy series A Song of Ice and Fire. How far am I into it, you ask? Well, I’m happy to report that I have read three of the five volumes so far:

1. A Game of Thrones

2. A Clash of Kings

3. A Storm of Swords

Because I haven’t been reading them one after the other, I find it helpful to keep a reading journal so I can refer back to it when I’m starting a new volume. The plot, or should I say the plots, is very complex and it’s easy to forget the intricacies when you’ve stopped reading the series for a month. I haven’t been watching the TV series yet so no spoilers please. I’ll be doing a full review of the series (the books that are out) once I’m done with those. Hopefully, before the year ends.

  • The Harry Potter series – J.K. Rowling

In my 2015 Reading Plans, I mentioned that reading the Harry Potter series was going to be my bonus reread of the year. Needless to say, I took full advantage of this bonus and I have read five out of the seven books:

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher Stone

2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – QOTW #11

5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Before I restarted the series, most of my memories of the story were based on the movies because I hadn’t touched the books in years, whereas I watch the movie almost every year. It’s been really great to see how the movies and books differ. As I’ve mentioned a couple of times before, I really want to write a post about my feelings on this rereading experience. Once again, hope this happens before 2016.

  • Charles Dickens

This year, I want to read more novels by my main boy Dickens. I’ve had to review my expectations a little bit when I realised how long it took me to read one. I think it’s safe to say I won’t be getting through his entire bibliography in 2015. So far I’ve read his two first novels:

1. The Pickwick Papers

2. Oliver Twist

Between these two novels, my favourite has to be The Pickwick Papers. If you’re looking for a good laugh, pick it up. It’s a chunky one but it’s worth it. In my QOTW #9, I included a quote from Oliver Twist. Despite his love for long-winded stories (you have to remember he was paid by the word), Charles Dickens remains a beautiful writer. I will be starting Nicholas Nickleby very soon. I’m excited to be reading one of his novels in London, where so much of his works are based.

  • Stardust – Neil Gaiman

This book was also on my TBR list for 2015. I reviewed it in the post ‘When the movie is better than the book’. I don’t think I need to say much more about how I felt about this novel after that.

  • To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee

I added this novel to my TBR after I talked about the sequel in the post ‘On Harper Lee’s new novel’. I included it in my one and only Book Haul and read it very soon after that. I was planning to review it but I apparently did not (I need to be more organised about planning reviews because me forgetting seems to be a recurring theme). I’m thinking about doing a combined review with the sequel Go Set a Watchman which I am planning to purchase very soon with my first pay check. While you wait, here is my QOTW #7 which features a lovely quote from To Kill a Mockingbird.

I’d already read this novel before but it was good to refresh my memory. Plus, I finally got to see the movie, way to kill two birds with one stone (see what I did there…).

  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry – Gabrielle Zevin

This novel was also part of my 2015 Reading Plans. Go read my review if you want to learn more about it and read what my feelings were. My QOTW #10 also gives you a little preview of the writing style and tone of the story.

  • Us – David Nicholls

The last book of this list was not in my Reading Plans but I found it on sale at the airport and I just couldn’t say no. Click HERE to read my review!

And that’s it for now folks. You may have noticed that I haven’t read some of the books on my list but as the year progresses and new books come out, my reading goals change.

In total, I’ve read 14 books since January, not too shabby. I’m very pleased with how much reading I’ve done, especially considering the size of some of these books. If you want to keep track of what I’m reading, add me on Goodreads (link in my widgets – the little wheel icon). At the moment, I’m reading a book I’ve been assigned for my MA in September (always thinking ahead) but there are many more exciting things to come.

Because it’s the summer, at least it’s supposed to be (not impressed by London weather), I thought i’d include a picture that has nothing to do with books but everything to do with the sun.

P1050819
Nice – France (home)

Toodles,

Pow.

Leave a Reply

