Quote of the Week – QOTW #12

Before we start, I wanted to apologise for being M.I.A. these past ten days or so. I was having so much fun in Canada, catching up with friends and getting my diploma, that I honestly forgot about my blog. Oopsie. I have also been experiencing a pretty bad reading slump and I decided to take a break from reading and writing so I could come back with more conviction and motivation.

This week’s quote has something to do with my reading slump. Because I was stuck with the third instalment of A Song of Ice and Fire, I decided to pick up another book at the airport on Friday. You can imagine how happy I was to see that there was an offer for 2 books for $20. So many possibilities! I was even happier to see that David Nicholls’ novel US was available. As a huge fan of One Day, I had been wanting to read this novel for as soon as it came out but never got around to picking it up. This was the perfect opportunity. I bought this novel as well as a book about dogs’ perceptive and cognitive abilities. What a program!

I started with US and was grabbed by the introductory quote which I will share with you now:

That is the lucky lady Sophia Peabody (cool last name too)

“Thou only hast taught me that I have a heart – thou only hast thrown a light deep downward and upward into my soul. Thou only hast revealed me to myself; for without thy aid my best knowledge of myself would have been merely to know my own shadow – to watch it flickering on the wall, and mistake its fantasies for my own real actions…

Now, dearest, dost thou understand what thou hast done for me? And is it not a somewhat fearful thought, that a few circumstances might have prevented us from meeting?”

Nathaniel Hawthorne, a letter to Sophia Peabody – 4 October 1840

I don’t have much to say about this quote apart that it’s beautifully written and really resonated with me. The power of Fate in shaping your life, the importance that another person can have in who you are, those are timeless concepts that can easily be applied to your own existence.

I’m almost halfway through David Nicholls’ novel so I should be able to write a review for Wednesday. Keep an eye out for that!

Toodles,

Pow.

One thought on “Quote of the Week – QOTW #12

Leave a Reply

