Top 5 Wednesday/ T5W: Books I Won’t Read Ever

Hello everyone,

I really enjoyed this week’s topic for T5W so I wanted to share with you the top 5 books that I’m never planning on reading. I usually have a hard time saying a definite ‘never’ to any books but I’m pretty positive that I’ll never read the following ones.

5. Looking for Alaska – John Green

I think I may have mentioned before that I’ve already read two of John Green’s books and wasn’t blown away by either. Paper Towns and The Fault in Our Stars were just average books to me. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Looking for Alaska but I’d also heard a lot of good things about the two other novels so I won’t be adventuring there anytime soon. I guess John Green is just not for me. Sorry.

4. The Hunger Games series – Suzanne Collins

Is it the Hunger Games series or the Mockingjay series? I am not sure. What I am sure of though is that I am not planning on reading these books ever. I’ve seen all the movies so far and really enjoyed them but I’ve heard from many people that they are actually better than the novels. A lot of my friends told me that the last instalment of the series was a huge disappointment because Collins focused too much on the sentimental plot line and forewent the political side of the story. I don’t want to get enthralled in the first two books and then be let down so I’m just not going to start.

I am looking forward to the last movie but I’ll be done with these series after that.

3. 50 Shades of Grey series – E.L. James

I’m sure this one won’t be too much of a surprise but I’m not planning on reading 50 Shades of Grey either. I was intrigued when I heard about all the hype surrounding these series so I went on the internet to read an excerpt and my curiosity was shut down really quickly. Never mind the plot, the writing style is just not for me.

I did watch the first movie and was ‘meh’ about it. I went online to see how the plot ends and now I’m over it.

2. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

I’ve heard great reviews about this book. I also heard it was scary and disturbing, two things that I’m not looking for when I’m reading. Last summer, I freaked out reading The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon and it’s not an intense novel let me assure you. I know that some people love horror and thrillers but I’m definitely not one of them.

This is probably the only case in this list where I might change my mind at some point but not in the near future, that’s for sure.

1. The Twilight series – Stephenie Meyer

This one is a bit particular because I actually started these series. I read the first book when I was around 14 and didn’t particularly enjoy it so I didn’t continue. However, a year later, I met a hardcore Twilight fan and thought that maybe I had missed something. I decided to give it another go and reread the first one. I started the second one but when I fell asleep reading it, I realised that it was time to call it quits. Since then, I’ve stayed away from any books including vampires, werewolves and the sort.

You’ll notice that this list contains a majority of series. I think it’s easier to commit yourself to one novel even if you’re not sure about it but a series involves a lot more time so you better be motivated.

Let me know if I should change my mind on any of these books. I probably won’t but you can always try.

This article was much more difficult to write than I anticipated but I hope you enjoyed it all the same.

Toodles,

Pow.

PS: There was no QOTW last Sunday because I was working on a scholarship application and, as the procrastinator that I am, I left it to the last minute (Excuses, Excuses).

PSS: There probably won’t be a writing update this friday because I’m back in Canada for two weeks and have no time to write (Excuses, Excuses).

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday/ T5W: Books I Won’t Read Ever

  1. Anyone who say The Hunger Games movies are better than the books probably didn’t read the books. Or they did and fell asleep. That’s a ridiculous statement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

