My May TBR

The month of May is going to be full of exciting things this year. For one, I might get my driver’s license (I said ‘might’). It also happens to be my birthday month; I cannot wait to listen to “22” on repeat for 24h. Finally, I’m going back to Canada for graduation at the end of the month. A lot of fun times in perspective. Needless to say that I won’t have that much time for reading so logically, I decided to make a list of all the books I want to read this month so I can ultimately feel like a giant failure.

Jokes aside, I decided to post a TBR for May so I don’t waste too much time thinking about the books I want to read and actually read them. Time is of the essence people! I also think this might be a good way to see how I’ve progressed on “My 2015 Reading Plans” (LINK).

Before I start with May, I should say that in the few days left in April (that means tomorrow), I’ll be finishing Oliver Twist by my dear friend Charles Dickens.

With no further ado, here’s my TBR list for the month of May:

1. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry – Gabrielle Zevin

P1050856Like I mentioned in my 2015 Reading Plans, I’ve been looking forward to reading this book for a while now and I’m finally getting around to it. It’s definitely the next item on my list. I’ve heard so many great things about this novel so I’m determined to write my own review once I’m done to see how it compares to other points of view.

Moreover, I’ve been needing a fun and quick read so this will be perfect for me.

2. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K. Rowling

P1050854I’ve finally done it; I’m finally rereading the Harry Potter series. I couldn’t justify the time commitment during my BA but now that I don’t have many obligations, I’m guilt-free. So far, I’ve been feeling a little underwhelmed by the whole rereading experience but I’m hoping my feelings will change as I get further along. I’ll definitely write a blog post about it when I’m done.

I’m really excited to reread the 4th book of the series because it used to be my favourite. I’m interested to see if it is still the case.

3. A Storm of Swords – George R.R. Martin

P1050857The big chunky book of the month of May will be the third volume of the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin. I’ve already read the first two volumes and I’m loving it so far. I preferred the second book, A Clash of Kings, to the first one, A Game of Thrones. Once again, the fact that I already knew the plot of the first novel as I’d seen the first season of the TV show rendered the reading experience a little less exciting. For now, I’ve stopped watching the show so I can truly enjoy the books.

I can’t wait to jump back into the world of Westeros and see how many of my favourite characters George R.R. Martin has decided to have brutally murdered. Spoiler Alert: I’m still not over Lady’s death.

4. 1984 – George Orwell 

P1050860The fourth item on this list is only a ‘maybe’ because, let’s be honest, I’m probably not going to get through all of these books in a month with the tiny attention-span I possess but let’s pretend for a moment that I’m the kind of girl who can read for more than 20 minutes at a time.

I won’t say much about this novel because it’s a classic and I’ve already talked about it in my 2015 Reading Plans (how many times have I referred to this post? Seriously) but I really want to read this modern classic.

Anyway, if I don’t get through this novel in May, I’ll try for June, or July…

So here it is, the list of all the books I’m planning to read in the following month. I don’t think I’ll be posting a wrap-up because I don’t feel like embarrassing myself.

P1050850

Toodles,

Pow.

2 thoughts on “My May TBR

Leave a Reply

