Quote of the Week – QOTW #8

This week, I’m coming at you with something a little outside of my regular territory: some YA. I’m not a big fan of this genre to be honest because I can’t relate to most of the characters and the stories never feel real to me. But I haven’t given up yet.

I’ve read two John Green novels, The Fault in Our Stars and Paper Towns, and I haven’t felt overwhelmed by either. However, his writing can be gripping at times and I wanted to share one of his quote with you.

“It is easy to forget how full the world is of people, full to bursting, and each of them imaginable and consistently misimagined.”

John Green – Paper Towns

Honestly, I couldn’t stand any of the characters from Paper Towns. Everything they said was either melodramatic or didn’t really mean anything to me. However, I found this statement surprisingly accurate.

When we meet people, our first impressions are often far from reality. Even people we haven’t met yet, we still view them through stereotypes. What I like about literature is that you get to immerse yourself in the complexity of the characters and see what you couldn’t if you knew them in real life. You explore different levels of their personality and learn so much about human nature in the process.

I like how this quote emphasises the fact that there is a multitude of us out there and that no two people are the same. This extraordinary complexity is the promise that you will never get bored of the human race, at least I don’t think I ever will.

I’m looking for good YA recommendations if you have any, preferably nothing that will lead to me rolling my eyes the entire way through. Leave a little comment so I can enlarge my TBR (as if that was necessary).

Toodles,

Pow.

Leave a Reply

