Writing Update: Baby Steps

I’m proud to say that this past week was not a complete fail in the writing department. It was not amazing either but I’m choosing to relish small victories.

I had only two writing sessions; the first one was an hour long but the second one only lasted half an hour. Needless to say, I could have done much better. During this small amount of time, I did manage to work on the prologue for one of my project. I’ve decided to focus solely on a single project at a time so I don’t turn into a major scatterbrain. I might also progress quicker that way.

I had stopped working on this particular story for about a year and it was hard to get back into it but the prologue is almost done now. I want to edit it one last time and then move on to the next part. My ideas have evolved and are now clearer but I’m still intimidated by the dimension of the project. I think realising how long the process might be is the reason why I lost my momentum by the end of the week.

In order to remediate this issue, I need to divide the work into smaller sections so it doesn’t seem as titanic of a task. I might focus my time next week to create a more detailed plan of the story so I can have some sort of schedule to work around. I do want it to be fairly flexible in case I’m feeling inspired for another part than the one I had planned to work on. Next week, I’m also aiming to get at least three writing sessions in to make it more part of my routine.  We’ll see how that went next Friday.

Yesterday, I read an article  so I wanted to share it with you: http://www.latimes.com/books/festivalofbooks/la-et-jc-festival-of-books-authors-advice-20150421-story.html . It contains a few advice given by acclaimed authors to aspiring ones. Ivy Pochoda mentions that it’s important to write something you’d want to read. Although this seems obvious, I think it’s something I struggle with because I’m always wondering what other people want rather than what I want. This is a point I need to remember if I want to be proud of my work.

To conclude this post, I wanted to include a sneak-peek of what I’ve been writing so here it is:

“I’ve known my “station in life” for a long time now; in fact, I’ve made-up my own. I like to call myself the new Boo Radley. Let me tell you why.”

Toodles,

Pow.

One thought on “Writing Update: Baby Steps

Leave a Reply

