Quote of the Week – QOTW #3

And here we are again. Today, I’m coming at you with a quote from the book I finally finished last Monday: Dickens’ Pickwick Papers. It took me a while to get through this novel, not because I didn’t enjoy it because I did, but rather because it was extremely long (950 pages, and pretty significant pages they were). I’m not planning to write a review yet but if you’re interested in reading my thoughts on it, I’ll be pleased to do it, just let me know in the comments below. Now, on to the quotation:

“There are dark shadows on the earth, but its lights are stronger in the contrast. Some men, like bats or owls, have better eyes for the darkness than the light; we, who have no such optical powers, are better pleased to take our last parting look at the visionary companions of many solitary hours, when the brief sunshine of the world is blazing full upon them.” Charles Dickens – The Pickwick Papers

First, let’s addressed the beautiful hair of young Dickens here: so voluminous! And this distant gaze: reminiscent of the true Romantic poet. Ok, I’m done now.

In terms of content, this quotation has a similar message to last week’s: the importance of having a positive outlook on life. The hero of the novel Mr. Pickwick is a perfect example of someone who does not let misadventures take the best of him. He is always ready to help others see life in a positive light and as he does so, he ultimately leads the reader to adopt a similar vision. In the world, you will encounter numerous people who are solely focused on the negative; they complain constantly and are unable to put things into perspectives. In this quotation, Dickens seems to say that it is harder to concentrate on the dark; it requires particular “optical powers.” Therefore, why not attempt to rejoice in what is given to us.

Toodles,

Pow.

4 thoughts on “Quote of the Week – QOTW #3

  1. I would definitely be interested in hearing your thoughts on Dickens’s first novel – I love hearing what people have to say about Pickwick. You might also be interested in taking a look at my forthcoming novel Death and Mr Pickwick, which tells the story behind the creation of The Pickwick Papers. In my view, Pickwick is not just a great book, it also has the most fascinating backstory of any work of fiction. You can find out more at: http://www.deathandmrpickwick.com, or a quick overview can be obtained from the first pre-publication review: http://www.publishersweekly.com/9780374139667
    I should perhaps warn you about one thing though, especially as you mentioned the length of The Pickwick Papers – my novel is VERY long too.
    Anyway, I can be contacted via the website, and if you feel like getting in touch, to tell me your thoughts on Pickwick, or anything else, I would be delighted to hear from you.
    Best wishes
    Stephen Jarvis

    Like

    1. Hi Stephen,
      Thanks for your comment. I’ve actually already read the article about your book on Publisher’s Weekly and it triggered my curiosity so it’s already on my books to read this year. I just really love Dickens, and Pickwick is such a great first novel. All of Dickens’ characters are iconic and they will stick with me for a very long time.
      Best Wishes,
      Pauline.

      Like

      1. That’s great Pauline, thank you. By the way, I forgot to mention that the novel has a facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/deathandmrpickwick, and I post bits and pieces of Pickwickiana on a daily basis. The great thing is that people are now sending me items to post there – for instance, today’s post is about a restaurant called Pickwick in Portugal, and I was sent a photo of a statue of Mr Pickwick as a waiter.

        Like

Leave a Reply

