Quote of the Week – QOTW #2

Today, I am coming at you with a fairly long quote so get comfy and enjoy!

“In each century since the beginning of the world, wonderful things have been discovered. In the last century, more amazing things were found out than in any century before. In this new century, hundreds of things still more astounding will be brought to light. At first people refuse to believe that a strange new thing can be done, then they begin to hope that it can’t be done, then they see it can be done – then it is done and all the world wonders why it was not done centuries ago. One of the new things people began to find out in the last century was that thoughts – just mere thoughts – are as powerful as electric batteries – as good for one as sunlight is, or as bad for one as poison. To let a sad thought or a bad one get into your mind is as dangerous as letting a scarlet fever germ get into your body. If you let it stay there after it has got in, you may never get over it as long as you live.” Frances Hodgson Burnett – The Secret Garden

This quote (more like ‘paragraph’), is taken from the very famous children book The Secret Garden. I read this novel twice, once when I was a child, and another time three years ago. Both experiences were great but the second time around, I took more of an interest in the deeper messages of the novel and the above quotation is a section that really stuck with me. In this passage, the narrator discusses two things: the fear of change and the power of thoughts. Like the QOTW #1, this quotation is timeless.

When I think about discoveries that can seem scary, what first comes to my mind is all the new procedures that help overcome infertility or infant malformations. Some of these advances lead to a lot of ethical issues but I’m convinced that in a few years, they will all be considered normal. On a less polemical note, changes can be scary too. As a child, when your parents decide that you have to move away, you hope that it will never happen but it eventually does. Most of the time, it ends up being a great experience and you wonder why you dreaded the move in the first place. I think this quote is saying that it takes more time and effort to shy away from change than to accept it. 

The part about the power of thoughts is a little more explicit in my opinion. Everything that you put into your head ends up having an impact on how you live your life. If you keep focusing on the negative or putting yourself down, you’ll start to believe that it is all that your life is made of. For a few years now, I have made a list of all the positive things in my life. Almost every night, I look over my day and try to pinpoint all the good things that have happened (it can be the smallest things) and write them down. Since then, I’ve been much more happier. When there is a day where I feel like I’m not accomplishing anything, I just read over these lists. They help me gain some perspective on my life. I think it’s crucial to try and cultivate positive thoughts to stay sane.

This is it for the philosophical segment of the week-end. What do YOU do to try and be more positive? 

Toodles,

Pow.

2 thoughts on “Quote of the Week – QOTW #2

Leave a Reply

